Meet the Advisory Board

The Rosalynn Carter Fellowships for Mental Health Journalism Advisory Board selects fellows and works with them to design and guide their projects. The Advisory Board also supports and advises the continued development of the program, including monitoring and evaluation support, curriculum development, and marketing. Members include:

U.S. Advisory Board

Susan Ford Bales
Past Chairman of the Board of Directors
Betty Ford Center
Board Member
The Bosque School
Board Member
Gerald R. Ford Foundation

Kathryn E. Cade
The Carter Center Mental Health
Task Force Liaison

Caroline S. Clauss-Ehlers, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Graduate School of Education
Rutgers University
Freelance Journalist
2004-2005 Rosalynn Carter Journalism Fellow

Ben Druss, M.D., M.P.H.
Rosalynn Carter Endowed Chair in Mental Health
Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University

Larry Fricks
Deputy Director
SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions

Katie Hawkins-Gaar
Digital Innovations Faculty

John F. Head
Communications Director
The Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law
1999-2000 Rosalynn Carter Journalism Fellow

Kay Redfield Jamison, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Louisa Craft Jornayvez, M.A.
Founder, Emanuel Project

Hank Klibanoff
James M. Cox Jr. Professor of Journalism
Emory University

Lawrence A. Kutner, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Stanford Pre-Collegiate Studies
Stanford University

Bill Lichtenstein
Lichtenstein Creative Media

Bob Meyers
President Emeritus
National Press Foundation

Ellen Mickiewicz, Ph.D.
James R. Shepley Professor of Public Policy Studies
Duke University

Arlene Morgan
Assistant Dean
School of Media and Communication
Temple University at Temple University

Tori Murden McClure
Spalding University

International Advisors

Sultana Afdhal
WISH Partnership and Outreach Manager
Fellowship manager and partnership focal point at WISH
Qatar International Advisor

Hajar Ahmed Al-Ali
Director of Programs
Al Jalila Foundation
UAE International Advisor

Haleema Amin
Program Manager
Al Jalila Foundation
UAE International Advisor

Victor M. García
Assistant Professor and Academic Researcher
Universidad de la Sabana
Colombia International Advisor

Yahira Rossini Guzmán Sabogal
Head of Mental Health
Universidad de la Sabana
Colombia International Advisor

International Advisory Board – Colombia

Ricardo Sánchez Pedraza, M.D.
Psychiatrist, Epidemiologist, and Biostatistician
Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Luis Eduardo Jaramillo González, M.Sc.
Scientific Committee Member of the Colombian Psychiatric Association
Director of the Department of Psychiatry
Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Enrique Uribe Uribe Jongbloed
Director of Grupo de Investigación Cultura Audiovisual
Assistant Professor
International Affairs Coordinator
Faculty of communication
Universidad de La Sabana

International Advisory Board – Qatar

Egbert Schillings

Everette E. Dennis
Dean of Northwestern University in Qatar

Dr. Javaid Sheikh
Dean, Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar

Dr. Suhaila Ghuloum
Senior Consultant Psychiatrist, Hamad Medical Corporation

Muhammad Waqar Azeem
Chair, Department of Psychiatry, Sidra Research and Medical Center

Mohammed Ben Ali
Weyak, Executive Director

Dr. Salih Ali Al-Marri
General Secretary Assistant for Health Affairs Office, General Directorate of Health Affairs Department
Ministry of Public Health

Maha Elakoum
WISH Research Development Officer
Board Secretariat

Sultana Afdhal
WISH Partnership and Outreach Manager
Fellowship manager and partnership focal point at WISH